In the year 1978-79 Bangladesh government planned to establish medical colleges at Bogra, Comilla, Dinajpur, Faridpur, Kustia, Khulna, Noakhali and Pabna with a view to improve the healthcare services in the country. Keeping this view in mind in the year 1980-81 medical colleges were started functioning at Comilla, Khulna, Pabna and IPGMR (Dhaka). Subsequently the programme was abandoned and the students were shifted to the established existing eight medical colleges. In the 1991-92 the government felt the need for more medical colleges for medical education facilities and releases the burden imposed on the existing medical colleges. Accordingly the government committed to establish five medical colleges at Dinajpur, Bogra, Khulna, Faridpur and Comilla with annual intakes of 50 students at each.

On 16 August 1992 Dinajpur Medical Colleges started functioning at Dinajpur main town occupying a hostel of general government college and a rented private building named Hamana Bhaban. It was shifted to new building proper at Ananada Sagor area near Dinajpur main town on 1 July 2000. Dinajpur Sadar hospital was used as temporary medical college hospital. Medical college was started functioning in building proper in college campus on 7 March 2010. Now Dinajpur Medical College and Hospital is have excellent campus with annual intake of approximately 150 students.

It is located at Anando sagar in the Dinajpur district of the Rangpur division and associated with Rajshahi University. The college is recognized by World Health Organization. Graduates are eligible for United States Medical Licensing Examination and Dinajpur Medical College is listed in IMED.

Established 1992
Type Medical College, Coeducational
Students 900
Location Dinajpur District, Bangladesh
Campus Urban
Nickname DjMC