Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University was established as an Agricultural Extension Training Institute (AETI) to award a three-year diploma in agriculture. The AETI was later upgraded to Hajee Mohammad Danesh Agricultural College in 1988 having an affiliation from the Bangladesh Agricultural University, Mymensingh. Then the college was upgraded to the status of a university renaming it as Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University on 11 September 1999.

Established September 11, 1999
Type Public, coeducational
Chancellor Mohammad Zillur Rahman, president of Bangladesh
Vice-Chancellor Professor Md. Ruhul Amin
Academic staff 230
Students 3250
Undergraduates 2950
Postgraduates 250
Doctoral students 50
Location Dinajpur District, Bangladesh
Campus 130 acres
Nickname HSTU
Affiliations UGC
Website http://www.hstu.ac.bd